DON'T MISS A NEW LISTING AGAIN!
FREE AUTOMATED EMAIL UPDATES
Sublime Home and Gardens! One turn from Lawrencevilles charming Main Street, this magnificent residence celebrates its 1830s provenance with a romantic facade and spectacular original details, while still keeping a firm foot in today with versatile space, and a knockout backyard designed by a master gardener. Hardwoods, many decorative fireplaces, and chiseled millwork unfold throughout an ideal-for-entertaining flow. The lofty front hall opens to the former double parlor, now grand dining and living rooms with matching fireplaces; tall pocket doors lead to a sunlit den. A pull-up peninsula unites the family room with the kitchen; character is added by a vintage enamel South Bend range and a French door to a cocktail-friendly screened porch. Quieter space is found in a library and adjoining study. Front and back stairs lead to 2 floors of 6+ bedrooms and 4 baths, very flexible in configuration and ensuring space for all. The outdoor space is just as elegant, with exquisite rear gardens and a pool framed by a white picket fence - all with flanking farm views. A bit of history that may or may not be accurate: 2868 Main Street was built in the 1830s as the Lawrenceville Female Seminary by a Latin teacher named James Porter. Porter taught at The Maidenhead Academy (Lawrenceville) until 1827 when he decided to build a school for girls. He died the year it opened and his wife took over the school.However, New Jersey law prohibited a woman from running a school so the then-principal of Lawrenceville, Alexander Hamilton Phillips, ran the Seminary and the Academy at the same time. It closed in 1883 and became a private residence. Lawrenceville rented the house around 1900 as a house for students. One of the house masters was Thornton Wilder - 1927 - 1930. It is reported that he wrote The Bridge of San Luis Ray while living there. In 1941 it again became a private residence.